Manatee County Sexual Battery Attorney
If facing criminal prosecution for sexual battery in Manatee County, then you’ll want to have some understanding of the charges levied against you. The judicial proceedings will likely take place in Bradenton, but there’s nothing inviting about the Manatee County Courthouse when you’re on the wrong side of the law. Having a defense lawyer for sexual assault in Manatee County can help you understand the charges against you and what you can expect.
First, however, you’ll need to have a working definition of sexual battery. It can be referred to as sexual assault or rape and is broadly defined as engaging in any sexual activity with a person who did not consent to that conduct. In Florida, it also refers to any sexual conduct (consensual or otherwise) between a person 18 years of age or older and person 17 years of age or younger.
The penalty for sexual battery in Manatee County is threefold:
- Sex offender registration
- Court costs, fines, and restitution
The most pressing of these three are obviously prison time and registering as a sex offender. Indeed, if you want the best chance at avoiding these distinctions, you may want to look into a Manatee County sexual battery attorney. Of course, not everyone is going to be doled out the same penalty every time. There are variables that play a role in exactly how the case is perceived and what the penalty ends up being. Some of these variables include:
- Threatening the victim
- Drugging the victim
- The victim’s age at the time of the offense
- The suspect being a member of the law enforcement
- The relationship between the suspect and the victim
- Weapon usage by the suspect
- Whether the victim was handicapped
- The ability (or lack thereof) of the victim to resist
Obviously, all of these can have a hand in how severe the penalty for sexual battery in Manatee County ends up being. Registering as a sex offender is something that will stick with you for the rest of your life. If you are convicted, plead guilty, or accept a plea agreement, you can be subject to sex offender registration. You can also be subject to registering as a sex offender even if you are 18 and engaged in consensual sexual conduct with a person who was 17 years of age.
Prison time is also a possibility, although there is no set amount of time that you will have to spend in jail. Again, sentencing is often determined by a number of different variables surrounding the case. For those who have served time in prison for sexual battery and recommit the offense within five years of their release, the minimum amount of jail time is 5 years and the maximum is life in prison. Obviously, not everyone is going to be subject that amount of time in jail, but a defense lawyer for sexual assault in Manatee County will be adept at reducing your sentence.
As it stands, you really have three options when it comes to legal representation: yourself, a public defender, and a Manatee County sexual battery attorney. Representing yourself is almost always a lose-lose situation because you’re more prone to self-incrimination and you probably don’t have a good grasp on court procedures. A public defender is also dangerous in that they can’t afford to focus their full attention on a single case. Stephen G. Cobb, a qualified criminal defense lawyer throughout the state of Florida, has been working in the field of criminal law since 1990. He has seen thousands of unique cases and he takes that experience when representing any new client. The Cobb Criminal Defense Law Firm of Florida is available to anyone facing prosecution for sexual battery in Manatee County.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 466-1522