Hamilton County Sexual Battery Attorney
A criminal charge for sexual battery in Hamilton County is no laughing matter. It’s important to understand your rights and what you need to do in a court of law. Although Hamilton County isn’t a particularly large area, it is a place that deserves adequate legal representation. A qualified Hamilton County sexual battery attorney might seem difficult to come by, but they are an important part of your legal defense. Indeed, opting for self-representation or a public defender brings with it a whole host of difficulties.
Self-representation is rarely a good idea, largely because most individuals don’t have an intrinsic understanding of the legal system. A public defender, while initially inexpensive, cannot provide you with the attention to detail you might receive from an independent defense lawyer for sexual assault in Hamilton County.
When you consider that the penalty for sexual battery in Hamilton County can be extremely harsh, it’s always a good idea to keep your options open. Sexual battery in the state of Florida is defined as any non-consensual sexual conduct. It can also refer to consensual sexual conduct in which one of the partners was under the age of 18 at the time. Age will certainly play a large factor in determining what penalty (if any) is incurred. Other mitigating factors include:
- The relationship of the victim and suspect
- The handicapped status of the victim
- If a weapon of any kind was used
- If threats were made
- Being in law enforcement
- If the suspect drugged the victim
- If resistance was impeded by the suspect
The actual penalty for sexual battery in Hamilton County can take its toll in three separate ways. For starters, court costs and fines can be astronomical, even without hiring an independent attorney. Obviously, jail time is also a distinct possibility. Perhaps the thing that will stick with you the most is sex offender registration. Many people convicted for sexual battery in the state of Florida are forced to register as a sex offender, which is a designation that lasts forever regardless of what state you’re in.
In fact, it’s even possible for convicted parties to receive a sex offender designation if they had consensual sex with anyone under 18 years old. That means, an 18 year-old offender could feasibly be registered as a sex offender even for engaging in consensual sexual contact with a 17 year-old. A qualified defense lawyer for sexual assault in Hamilton County can work through these legal issues. If you try to go into the situation blind and represent yourself, you might not know what questions to ask or what recourse to take.
Additionally, anyone who has been released from prison for sexual battery and, within 5 years of their release, is convicted again must face harsher penalties. It’s not uncommon for the minimum to be set at 5 years in prison and the maximum set at life in prison. An experienced Hamilton County sexual battery attorney can help you avoid spending your life behind bars.
One such qualified attorney is Stephen G. Cobb. Cobb has been practicing criminal defense in the state of Florida for over 20 years. He has seen thousands of cases, including many that involve sexual battery. If you want experience and expertise, then you need to opt for someone who understands the system and will be willing to work with you.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 466-1522