facebook icon twitter icon linkedin icon youtube icon Google plus icon rss icon just arrested


Garden City dui Lawyer - Okaloosa County

Garden City- Okaloosa Courthouse Florida

 Garden City

Florida First Time DUI Offender?

In almost every instance of DUI arrest in Okaloosa County - Garden City, Florida, it is a serious mistake to not hire an experienced Okaloosa County, Florida DUI defense attorney, even if it your first arrest for DUI.

When you get arrested for DUI, there are both administrative and criminal consequences that you must handle.

The following is a run down of some of the penalties. However, you must be aware that just because the penalty is a minimum, you can get more than the minimum: You are probably not a Criminal Trial Law Expert certified by the Florida Bar, and one who practices is the local area. The Internet does many wonderful things to educate people, yet it can lull them into a false sense of security:

You do not want to go to court representing yourself only to become a victim of Courthouse Surprise - a harsher sentence than your friends or the Internet warned you about.

Administrative Consequences - Garden City

For a first time DUI offender, driver’s license suspension happens immediately upon arrest. The arresting officer will issue you a temporary permit that is only valid for 10 days from the date of arrest. You must act quickly to request an administrative review of your suspension or your driver’s license will be suspended for six months. Okaloosa County Attorney Stephen G. Cobb has handled many administrative suspension hearings and can help you try to avoid administrative suspension of your driver’s license. Even if an administrative suspension cannot be avoided, Attorney Stephen G. Cobb can assist you in obtaining a hardship license after you have been without a license or permit for thirty (30) days (after a blood/breath alcohol level of .08 or above) or ninety (90) days (after your first time refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test).

Criminal Consequences - Garden City

In the state of Florida, DUI can be proven in two ways: impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. Regardless of how the charge is proven, the consequences are the same.

Incarceration: For a first time DUI conviction, the court has the discretion to impose incarceration for up to six months. However, if your Blood/Breath Alcohol measures at .15 or higher or there was a minor in the car, the court has the discretion to impose incarceration for up to nine months.

License Suspension: For a first time DUI conviction, your license will be revoked for not less than 6 months but no more than 1 year effective on the conviction date. Before expiration of the revocation period, you may apply for a hardship license.

Vehicle Impound: For a first time DUI conviction, your vehicle will be impounded for ten days unless your family has no other mode of transportation.

Fine: For a first conviction there will be a fine of not less than $500 but not more than $1000. However, if your Blood/Breath Alcohol measures at .15 or higher or there was a minor in the car, the fine will be not less than $1000 but not more than $2000.

Community Service: For a first conviction, 50 hours of community service or an additional $10 for each hour of community service is required. Attorney Stephen G. Cobb has handled hundreds of DUI cases in Okaloosa County. Please contact Mr. Cobb today for a confidential consultation about the specifics of your case and to navigate the often confusing world between the administrative and criminal consequences of a first time DUI arrest. Mr. Cobb will vigorously work to get the most favorable outcome available whether it is a dismissal of the charge, a favorable plea agreement, or a not guilty verdict.

Garden City



Assault & Battery  BUI  First Offender & Diversion   Forgery   Kidnapping  Interference with Custody  Lewd or Lascivious   Robbery & Theft    Sexual Battery   Weapons & Firearms  Worthless Checks  Burglary   Domestic Violence  DOMV Injunctions  Driver's License Form (DUI)  Drugs  DUI  False Domestic Charges  Felony Sentencing   Up   Pensacola Attorney   Criminal Attorney Florida   Criminal Attorneys Florida   Criminal Defense Attorney Florida   Florida Criminal Attorney   Florida Criminal Defense Attorney   Destin Attorney   Crestview Attorney   False Domestic Violence Charge Awareness Month   Florida Criminal Law Overview   Escambia County Criminal Defense Attorney   Florida Diversion Programs   Florida First Offender Programs   Criminal Defense Legal Fees 
Assault & Battery BUI & DUI   False Domestic Violence Charge Awareness Month